National Readers' Choice Award Finalist

Lots of exciting news this week. A royal wedding. A royal runaway (more on this in a sec!). And a royally awesome honor for Blue Christmas...

I'm delighted that Blue Christmas has been selected as a National Readers' Choice Award finalist in the novella category. The winner will be announced this July when we're all in Denver for RWA, so it'll be a party no matter the outcome. 

And speaking of parties, do you have your Royal Wedding party plans set?

Man, I sure do. I'll be celebrating in style with Laura von Holt, Lindsay Emory, and a few other writerly peeps. Follow along on my Instagram--I'm sure my InstaStories will be entertaining and oh-so aspirational. There will be fascinators, caftans, sparkles, bubbles, and all the indulgence the Big D is capable of delivering.

Which is a lot.

Oh, and in case you missed it, today is the day Lindsay Emory is celebrating the cover reveal of THE ROYAL RUNAWAY.

It's entirely possible I've been having way too much fun making fan art. Ahem. But after you read this book (PS reserve your copy now; it's out in paperback and eBook October 9, 2018, from Gallery Books), you'll be making your own, too.

This book cover is oh-so bookstagrammable, isn't it? I want all the Princess Thea royal wedding merch!

Here's the blurb:

For fans of The Princess Diaries and The Royal We comes a fun and daring novel about a modern-day princess who teams up with a spy to find out what happened to the fiancé who left her at the altar—and who just might get her own fairytale in the process.

Princess Theodora Isabella Victoria of Drieden of the Royal House Laurent is so over this princess thing.

After her fiancé jilted her on their wedding day, she’s finally back home after spending four months in exile—aka it’s back to press conferences, public appearances, and putting on a show for the Driedish nation as the perfect princess they expect her to be. But Thea’s sick of duty. After all, that’s what got her into this mess in the first place.

So when she sneaks out of the palace and meets a sexy Scot named Nick in a local bar, she relishes the chance to be a normal woman for a change. But just as she thinks she’s found her Prince Charming for the night, he reveals his intentions are less than honorable: he’s the brother of her former fiancé, a British spy, and he’s not above blackmail. As Thea reluctantly joins forces with Nick to find out what happened the day her fiancé disappeared, together they discover a secret that could destroy a centuries-old monarchy and change life as they know it.

Funny, fast-paced, and full of more twists and turns than the castle Thea lives in, The Royal Runaway is a fresh romantic comedy that will leave you cheering for the modern-day royal who chucks the rulebook aside to create her own happily-ever-after.

https://lindsayemory.com/theroyalrunaway

Blue Christmas Paperback Available at The Ripped Bodice

   

Hooray! Even though Small Business Saturday is officially over*, it’s always time to support indie booksellers!

JUST IN TIME FOR HOLIDAY GIVING... 

<twirls> I’m happy to announce BLUE CHRISTMAS (Mistletoe Key, Book 2) is available on The Ripped Bodice’s digital shelves! </twirls>  

The perfect Secret Santa gift! (Pair it with a fancy mug, some green tea, and some cookies and you’ve got the perfect themed gift too!)   

IMG_2176.PNG

 *I have a good excuse for missing it: I had The Plague on the official date of small business Saturday...thanks to the entire Haughton clan being carriers at Thanksgiving. You didn’t want to be near me—even online. ;)

Five for Friday: Quick and Dirty Edition

My beloved MacBook Pro is out of sorts, so this #5ForFri is coming at you quick and dirty from my phone. (Lordy, I hope there's autocorrect.) 

You know you like it dirty: 

  • I washed my car yesterday (to get rid of west Texas road dust and bug guts) which means I Am The Goddess of Rain. It rained off and on most of the day and is now gloriously un-hot here in Dallas. Not cool by any stretch of the imagination, but a pleasant 70-something. <happy sigh>
  • Speaking of pleasant: even though Photoshop decided to hijack my computer today, I did spend a delightful day working at the library in my favorite spot. Just not doing the work I'd planned on. 
  • THE BEST OATMEAL CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE IN DALLAS WAS CONSUMED BY ME.  
  • Also a burrito. But in a bowl. Because health. 
  • And while I'm praying for my computer's return to good health after uninstalling and reinstalling...and reinstalling...and reinstalling Photoshop & Illustrator, I'm choosing self-care over worry tonight and reading a dang romance novel. Or two.