Buns and Roses Romance Tea for Literacy

It’s no secret I like tea.

If you follow my Instagram, you’ll see no shortage of my daily work sessions, handy cuppa earl grey (or iced matcha lemonade now that it’s 100 degrees in Dallas), close at hand. Sometimes I sip from my HBIC Nation or Don’t Quit Your Daydream mugs, other times—and these are the best times—I host elaborate tea parties with my mom (complete with fake accents and designer dress-up-chest accessories) for my two nieces.

Plus I've been known to get dressed up and drag my friends to a good old-fashioned grownup tea party complete with festive headwear and elegant surrounds. (Like our HBIC tea party at the Boston Public Library this April.)

But sometimes, just sometimes, I get invited to host a table at an event I’ve attended (as a guest) for years. I cannot tell a lie, getting the invitation email from Lorraine Heath asking if I'd be interested in hosting an author table at Buns and Roses was something akin to getting a phone call on Rita finalist phone call day!)

This Friday, June 1, 2018, tickets go on sale* for the Buns and Roses Romance Tea for Literacy. All proceeds benefit the Richardson Adult Literacy Center. It’s a truly remarkable organization, and an incredible event, and I do hope you’ll consider joining us.

If you don’t live in Dallas, consider making it a weekend jaunt with your romance loving besties. What could be better than a private signing with 32 of your favorite romance authors? (Complete list below**.)

I’ve already started dreaming about the goodie bags I’ll be putting together for my table guests. They’re going to be so good, and that’s not just because I’m including a few of my paperbacks AND a paperback of Lindsay Emory’s The Royal Runaway which will have released the week prior. (This year, Lindsay will be there in the official capacity of fangirl at some lucky author’s table, but if you’re lucky, maybe you can track her down and get yours signed.)

Details:

  • October 21, 2018
  • 2-5pm (with a pre-event mix-and-mingle with the authors at 1:15)
  • Hyatt Regency North Dallas (special rates available)
  • Proceeds to benefit the Richardson Adult Literacy Center: http://ralc.org
  • Tickets must be purchased in advance, beginning June 1, 2018: http://bunsandroses.org

 

*12:01AM Texas Time, y’all.

**Kathleen Baldwin, Allie Burton, Allison B. Collins, Lauren Dane, Elizabeth Essex, Suzanne Ferrell, Addison Fox, Shana Galen, Tracy Garrett, Alexandra Haughton (that’s me!), Candace Havens, Lorraine Heath, Nicole Helm, Elizabeth Hoyt, Vivien Jackson, Linda Winstead Jones, Diane Kelly, Heather Long, Vivienne Lorret, Janna MacGregor, Emily March, Cathy Maxwell, Charis Michaels, Rachel Miles, Brenda Novak, Sasha Summers, C.A. Szarek, Jodi Thomas, Sherry Thomas, Jaye Wells, Lori Wilde, and Teri Wilson.

 

National Readers' Choice Award Finalist

Lots of exciting news this week. A royal wedding. A royal runaway (more on this in a sec!). And a royally awesome honor for Blue Christmas...

I'm delighted that Blue Christmas has been selected as a National Readers' Choice Award finalist in the novella category. The winner will be announced this July when we're all in Denver for RWA, so it'll be a party no matter the outcome. 

And speaking of parties, do you have your Royal Wedding party plans set?

Man, I sure do. I'll be celebrating in style with Laura von Holt, Lindsay Emory, and a few other writerly peeps. Follow along on my Instagram--I'm sure my InstaStories will be entertaining and oh-so aspirational. There will be fascinators, caftans, sparkles, bubbles, and all the indulgence the Big D is capable of delivering.

Which is a lot.

Oh, and in case you missed it, today is the day Lindsay Emory is celebrating the cover reveal of THE ROYAL RUNAWAY.

It's entirely possible I've been having way too much fun making fan art. Ahem. But after you read this book (PS reserve your copy now; it's out in paperback and eBook October 9, 2018, from Gallery Books), you'll be making your own, too.

This book cover is oh-so bookstagrammable, isn't it? I want all the Princess Thea royal wedding merch!

Here's the blurb:

For fans of The Princess Diaries and The Royal We comes a fun and daring novel about a modern-day princess who teams up with a spy to find out what happened to the fiancé who left her at the altar—and who just might get her own fairytale in the process.

Princess Theodora Isabella Victoria of Drieden of the Royal House Laurent is so over this princess thing.

After her fiancé jilted her on their wedding day, she’s finally back home after spending four months in exile—aka it’s back to press conferences, public appearances, and putting on a show for the Driedish nation as the perfect princess they expect her to be. But Thea’s sick of duty. After all, that’s what got her into this mess in the first place.

So when she sneaks out of the palace and meets a sexy Scot named Nick in a local bar, she relishes the chance to be a normal woman for a change. But just as she thinks she’s found her Prince Charming for the night, he reveals his intentions are less than honorable: he’s the brother of her former fiancé, a British spy, and he’s not above blackmail. As Thea reluctantly joins forces with Nick to find out what happened the day her fiancé disappeared, together they discover a secret that could destroy a centuries-old monarchy and change life as they know it.

Funny, fast-paced, and full of more twists and turns than the castle Thea lives in, The Royal Runaway is a fresh romantic comedy that will leave you cheering for the modern-day royal who chucks the rulebook aside to create her own happily-ever-after.

https://lindsayemory.com/theroyalrunaway

Five for Friday: Feelin' the Fall Edition

I'm feeling all things fall today--even though it was 100 degrees again in Dallas yesterday (yuck!) after a week of lovely, temperate weather. And though I took August off from official #FiveForFRI posts, I was definitely busy enjoying the small, everyday beauty of life and loved ones. 

And speaking of, my list today is full of love...

  1. I've been taking romance novels, games, coloring books, and puzzles to the Dallas Public Library. (They've been coordinating drop-offs for the mega shelter housing Harvey evacuees.) Our community so amazing, and I thank every single person who sent books or money for wishlist items for me to drop off. Romance offers love and hope, even in the darkest of times. And, as always, I'm so grateful to be a small part of Romancelandia. 
  2. I'm relaunching my stories from the One Week in Love anthologies as standalones in the Destination, Love series, and Julia Kelly/Blake and Alexis Anne are, too. It's been a love fest on Slack and email as we send new covers and excerpts back and forth, remembering how much fun we had writing these together several years ago. 
  3. Y'all, my sweet Dallas friends and I just nailed down the date for our annual Friendsgiving celebration. We've been friends for about a decade now (though it seems inconceivable!) and we always try to get together during the holiday season--no boyfriends (though all are now husbands)--for an evening of merriment. It's possible I did a happy dance in Starbucks when the last RSVP came in. 
  4. And Lindsay Emory and I were able to get together again today for a Ladies Who Lunch--which we should really re-name because it's more of a power-lunch/hashing out plans for glorious world domination than ladies of leisure getting together to gossip. 
  5. Today included ART! I'm a proud member of the Dallas Museum of Art, and I was able to get advance tickets to the new Yayoi Kusama exhibition. It's more of an experience than art exhibition, and if you live in the Dallas area, I highly recommend seeing it! 

There's nobody I'd rather be locked in a dark, mirrored room with for forty-five seconds than you, Lindsay. Unless Chris Evans is available. In that case, you're on your own, Linz.