National Readers' Choice Award Finalist

Lots of exciting news this week. A royal wedding. A royal runaway (more on this in a sec!). And a royally awesome honor for Blue Christmas...

I'm delighted that Blue Christmas has been selected as a National Readers' Choice Award finalist in the novella category. The winner will be announced this July when we're all in Denver for RWA, so it'll be a party no matter the outcome. 

And speaking of parties, do you have your Royal Wedding party plans set?

Man, I sure do. I'll be celebrating in style with Laura von Holt, Lindsay Emory, and a few other writerly peeps. Follow along on my Instagram--I'm sure my InstaStories will be entertaining and oh-so aspirational. There will be fascinators, caftans, sparkles, bubbles, and all the indulgence the Big D is capable of delivering.

Which is a lot.

Oh, and in case you missed it, today is the day Lindsay Emory is celebrating the cover reveal of THE ROYAL RUNAWAY.

It's entirely possible I've been having way too much fun making fan art. Ahem. But after you read this book (PS reserve your copy now; it's out in paperback and eBook October 9, 2018, from Gallery Books), you'll be making your own, too.

This book cover is oh-so bookstagrammable, isn't it? I want all the Princess Thea royal wedding merch!

Here's the blurb:

For fans of The Princess Diaries and The Royal We comes a fun and daring novel about a modern-day princess who teams up with a spy to find out what happened to the fiancé who left her at the altar—and who just might get her own fairytale in the process.

Princess Theodora Isabella Victoria of Drieden of the Royal House Laurent is so over this princess thing.

After her fiancé jilted her on their wedding day, she’s finally back home after spending four months in exile—aka it’s back to press conferences, public appearances, and putting on a show for the Driedish nation as the perfect princess they expect her to be. But Thea’s sick of duty. After all, that’s what got her into this mess in the first place.

So when she sneaks out of the palace and meets a sexy Scot named Nick in a local bar, she relishes the chance to be a normal woman for a change. But just as she thinks she’s found her Prince Charming for the night, he reveals his intentions are less than honorable: he’s the brother of her former fiancé, a British spy, and he’s not above blackmail. As Thea reluctantly joins forces with Nick to find out what happened the day her fiancé disappeared, together they discover a secret that could destroy a centuries-old monarchy and change life as they know it.

Funny, fast-paced, and full of more twists and turns than the castle Thea lives in, The Royal Runaway is a fresh romantic comedy that will leave you cheering for the modern-day royal who chucks the rulebook aside to create her own happily-ever-after.

https://lindsayemory.com/theroyalrunaway

Be Happy. Read Romance.

I've been dreaming up some super-duper reader swag...this is but one of my awesome new pretties.

Yeah. Yeah. I know. I've got these crazy amazing vinyl stickers for swag. Click on the image above or here to enter my latest giveaway.

If you follow me on Instagram, you already know about this, but I had a little fun and unexpected health stuff crop up in February. On Valentine's Eve, as a matter of fact. No chocolate and cheesecake for me. <insert heartbreak emoji>

And while it didn't result in a meet cute with a super dreamy attending physician in the ER-- although my surgeon was totally romance novel hero material--it did end up with me putting the brakes on, big time.

To that end, Puck Buddy, my second offering to the Mistletoe Key series, is being slightly delayed. I want to make sure Mia has the best story ever. Because I adore her. (You might remember her as the best BFF a gal could ever have in Blue Christmas.)

If you'd like to apply to be part of my review team for Puck Buddy, a zany romantic comedy set in the world of Mistletoe Key (where it’s perpetually Christmas at the beach) make sure you sign up using this link.

WANNA MEET ME IRL?

If you're in the Boston Area (or want to take a little trip out east) the weekend of April 27th, head on over to the New England Chapter of the Romance Writers of America's Thank Goodness It's For Literacy book signing.

The event will be held on Friday, April 27th, from 6pm-8pm in the Grand Ballroom at the Boston Marriott in Burlington, MA. The book signing is free of charge and open to the public.

It features a cash bar and an incredible group of 58 authors who will be signing books for purchase; a portion of the proceeds benefits literacy charities. Each reader will also receive tickets to enter a raffle for book/gift baskets assembled by some of our authors. The drawing will take place at 8:30pm.

I'd love to meet you there!

See a list of all signing authors here.

 

Can't make it to Beantown? I'll also be in Denver this July for the RWA Readers for Literacy event AND I'm super excited to let you know I'll be at a super special event called Buns and Roses in October in the DFW area.

I've been attending the event as a reader for years, and I'm delighted to have an author table surrounded by historical romance greats like Lorraine Heath, Cathy Maxwell, Sherry Thomas, and Elizabeth Hoyt and contemporary giants like Lauren Dane, Teri Wilson, and Nicole Helm. Tickets will go on sale in June, so make sure you sign up for the RALC's newsletter for a reminder.

xxoo

 

Galentines, Valentines, and Love for Snail Mail

Any excuse for pretty stationery!

And hey, if paper mail isn't your thing, that's cool too. Enjoy this digital postcard I made just for you...

Celebrate Love and Reading Romance Novels

It’s February! You know what that means: whether you’re in love with someone special—or just in love with the idea of love—hearts and flowers are all around. And while there’s not a National Romance Novel Month (yet!), it’s certainly fun to celebrate love when the rest of the world is.

(Not gonna lie, even though the commercial hoopla leaves me a little meh, I do enjoy pink festooning every stationary object during the lead-up to the 14th of the month!)

The holidays went by in a blur. I didn’t even get holiday cards in the mail this year (or, rather, last year), so I’m going in extra hot on the V-Day love.

I’m sending out old-fashioned valentines in the mail. If you’d like to get some snail mail, leave me your mailing address here and be on the lookout for something awesome. (I promise no glitter bombs!) One out of every five valentines will have something EXTRA SPECIAL in it—could be a gift card to Amazon or iTunes, some cool swag, a blind-date-with-a-book I think you might love, or something else totally fabulous. Make sure you’ve got your deets filled out by February 9th so I can get your goodies in the mail in time for the big day.

Smooches!